Just a beginner

So in my journeys through blog land, I am constantly coming across cute diy/craft projects I would love to try. The problem is that I’m not very crafty. I try my darndest and usually disappoint myself, but I get an A for effort. I have oodles of scrapbooking stuff, but it sits mostly unused…It’s sits well organized, but still unused. I also have a plethora of yarn, material, paint, and other stuff I just ‘know I’ll get to someday.’ Because I WANT to be crafty. I mean I desperately want to be!

So, I’m taking baby steps. Today’s project was finding a cute and cheap way to store plastic trash bags in my bathrooms. Up until now, they have just been shoved under the sinks, only to have me find that they have somehow grown and multiplied and now take up about 80% of the space. I had to get these under control!

So I took two empty containers I had been saving for just this sort of thing (one was a powdered Gatorade container and one was for powdered baby formula).

My plan was to cut one small hole in each lid so I could get the bags out and then cover the bin with scrapbook paper. Easy breezy right? Well, I hit a couple of roadblocks:

-First, the diameter of the cans was bigger than my scrapbook paper so the paper didn’t fit all the way around! I thought to myself: “Not only is this under my bathroom counter, but if I turn the uncovered part to the back, no one will see right? Well, in theory that is correct. But I just couldn’t bring myself to leave my first craft project so sub par.  So I cut an additional strip of paper to cover the blank areas.

-New problem! Now there were two visible seams on each container. Again, I could have just turned them around, but no! I needed a way to cover them. So I took some ribbon and glued it down the length of each seam.

-Ta da, right? Well, no. Now the space in between the ribbons looked weird and empty so I needed to add something. So I found some scrapbooking letters I had and personalized a little bit.

-Now for the lids. I thought I was soooo smart. I was going to use up the rest of a can of textured spray paint we had to paint the lids since they were either bright white or bright purple. So I started spraying. Well, one of them got a giant pool of spray paint in the middle and then I ran out of the paint when the other one was halfway done. After the paint dried, the ‘pool’ didn’t look so bad so I used that lid. I just used a different white lid for the other one and it doesn’t bother me.

So here they are!

Bag Holders – Before & After

A homemade, cute and essentially free place to store my little trash bags! And after one day, my husband said “I already used your little trash bag holder thingy”.

Cute and useful!

More projects to come!

~Erin

25 thoughts on “Just a beginner

  1. Pingback: Guest Bathroom – Under the sink must haves | Neaten Your Nest

  2. Pingback: Whatever happened to that kite??? « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  3. Pingback: Bejeweled « Neaten Your Nest

  4. I just came across a cute diy craft very similar to this while I was at a conference at work. Take scrapbook paper and cut it into semi small strips, then mod podge the strips around the container until fully covered. I wish I had taken a picture so you could see what I am talking about. I am going to actually do this with clear plastic ornaments pretty soon for Christmas!

    • I love that idea! So I haven’t gotten on the Mod Podge train yet, but was planning on buying some the next time I see it. I actually have a bunch of those ornaments that I bought years ago and I’ve been just waiting to get inspired. I would love to try this idea. Thanks!

  5. Ok – once the kitchen is done I am so making these – I have 3 coffee cans I’ve been saving for a rainy day craft project with the kids, but wasn’t really sure what to make. This looks like something I can do!

What are your thoughts?