It takes a houseguest.

Who vacuums their house and make Tex Mex Calzones at 10 at night? This girl!!!!

Now that is not normally the case. However, I have my wonderful friend Gabby on her way to visit me as we speak and we always go the extra mile for house guests! I have been having this big argument with myself about why I don’t do the ‘super clean’ when I DON’T have guests coming. This self argument has made me feel a little guilty about not always being on top of my housework. But here is what I have come up with:

It is absolutely ok that I do crazy, middle of the night cleaning when I have guests coming. It shows that I care about my house and how my guests feel when they get here. We normally keep a pretty clean house so it’s not a drastic change from the ordinary status, I just up the anty when it comes to how fast I do it. But I want my guests to feel they are coming somewhere clean and cozy and I don’t have to worry about all that stuff during the visit.

I have also realized that it is absolutely ok to NOT do crazy cleaning all the time. Like I said, we keep our home pretty clean, but who doesn’t want the freedom to leave the dishes in the sink one night or not do the laundry or bypass the den in dusting this time. I realized it is ok to cut yourself some slack if it means a more peaceful and enjoyable life. It will probably also mean more precious time with the ones you love.

Anyways, enough philosophizing!

So last night I made Tex Mex Calzones. I got the recipe from the March Menu at Once a Month Mom. These are delicious! So I made two batches, one for this week and one to freeze.

 

So they are not the prettiest things ever, but they are delicious.  And it’s the kind of meal that you could mix up with a lot of different ingredients depending on the types of meat, veggies and spices you have on hand. Love it!

So I clean my house better for houseguests than I do for myself. I make food that isn’t pretty. And the only way to get me to throw away a pair of my flip flops is because my dog ate one of them:

Oh, Sadie

 

We are not perfect beings, and we shouldn’t try to be. Being comfortable with our faults is as important as pride in our accomplishments. So I’m off to have a fun visit with a good friend and I’ll post soon!

 

~Erin

6 thoughts on “It takes a houseguest.

  1. Ditto to your sentiments! I used to clean my home to perfection constantly. I spent hours a day scrubbing it and finally realized one day that I was missing so much.

  2. Good for you cutting yourself some slack! 🙂 you’re right, the most important thing is maximizing your time to spend doing the things you love. There’s nothing wrong w/ a speed cleaning every now and then, your guests care about spending time w/ you not whether or not your house is immaculate. Have fun w/ Gabby! 🙂

  3. Love it! Your absolutely right! I beat myself up all the time about not having everything perfect – but in the end it’s more important that I spent time with my loved ones rather than all of it super cleaning my house! I still wish I was organized though…but one thing at a time! 🙂

What are your thoughts?

