Blog News – explaining my MIA

Hi everyone! So I have been off the blogging grid for over a week and it was completely unintentional. The main reason is that I have decided to switch my blog over to a self hosted ‘wordpress.org’ site and for some reason, I CANNOT figure it out. I have been putting all of my energy into some behind the scenes website stuff, but that doesn’t make for very interesting blog reading, does it?

I have also been working like a crazy lady planning a birthday party for our soon to be 4 year old. We have never done a party for him before and I think I may be going slightly ridiculously over the top. I think Pinterest has finally gotten the best of me……

There are a few other things filling in my spring time business, so some things have fallen by the wayside…..ie my overly planned blog posts. I just haven’t had the time to commit my full 4 hours of staring at the computer not knowing what to say. Of course this absence comes right after Neaten Your Nest’s 1 year anniversary. Shame on me!!! But I promise I am working diligently to make the site better, easier to navigate, more engaging and with additional features. Don’t forget about me!

~Erin

11 thoughts on “Blog News – explaining my MIA

  1. πŸ™‚ we won’t forget about you Erin! Enjoy planning your son’s 4th birthday party! My son’s party is in a couple of days as well! as for going self hosted I know how difficult it can be, I wanted to post about it but decided not to, I was scared I would make things more difficult for other bloggers. But if you need help or inspiration I would recommend you visit my friend Lauren at “the thinking closet” she wrote about it; she has a series called “my blog migration story” it’s amazing, I enjoyed reading it even if I had already transferred mine and I think you will enjoy it too. Lauren shares her story, tips and more “http://thinkingcloset.com/?s=my+blog+migration+story”!!! wish you good luck with it Erin! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much and happy birthday to your son too!!! Thanks for recommending Lauren, I’ll definitely check her out. Joan (see other comments) recommended her too so I really need to see her advice! I hope to be fully transferred soon!
      ~Erin

  2. I’m hesitant to move to WP.org, but it has been on my mind. I wonder if I have the techy-tech-tech skills to do it. Oy. I’ll be interested to hear about your migration if you post about it. I read Lauren’s over at The Thinking Closet with great interest too.

    That said, I think spring is so deceptively busy — even more so than the winter holidays! Have fun with your little one’s party — over the top rocks!

    • I wasn’t going to move until I realized you couldn’t add any plugins to a WP.com blog and also if I ever get to the point where I’m offering ads, you get 100% of the profit on self hosted blogs (not so with WP.com). I’m a little flustered though, I’m not gonna lie!

      I’ll keep everyone posted on the party craziness!

  3. Hi Erin, I agree with the above comment! The best and easiest ‘over the top’ parties I had for the kids were when I hired a magician to come. They always made the birthday boy his assistant and made balloon animals for all the kids. After the entertainment, there was cake, opening gifts, handing out goody bags, and off the happy little people went! It all goes by way too fast…..I highly recommend going ‘over the top’!
    Belinda

  4. HaHa! I loved your honest post. I thought I was the only one who struggled with “behind the scenes blog stuff” What a learning curve I have had ! As for over the top parties, as a Mother of a now 12 year old I highly recommend “over the top” little kids parties. We had roving fairy face painters one year! Such fun for everyone! They grow out of kids parties but have happy memories for ever!

    • I’m totally going crazy over here! I wish I could just write posts and be done with it! There is so much more to learn though πŸ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement on the kid’s party. I always love a theme and the kids are young enough that I still get to choose it!

What are your thoughts?

