Cute Valentine’s Craft and Art Organizing Tips!

When I was helping my mother-in-law clean out the Playroom Closet in her house, we came across the cutest little Valentine’s craft called the ‘Lovebug.’ Here is the one we found:

IMG_0154

I actually have no idea if this was made by my husband or if it was one of his siblings, but I loved the idea. Soooo…I stole it for my own kids.

20130213-165022.jpg

It’s so simple and we already had all of the supplies, so that made it even better! Just a Popsicle stick, construction paper, pipe cleaners and crayons. Easy!

I am constantly trying to find new ways to store and organize photos and art projects so that they don’t take over my house. I do have a scrapbook for the kids crafts, but since Evan started preschool a couple of weeks ago, I know the sheer volume of felt, crayon drawings and tissue paper animals will soon overwhelm me.

I take pictures of the kid’s crafts whether I decide to keep the actual craft or not. That way I always have a record of them. For my husband’s birthday last week, I gave him a framed collage print of my favorite of Evan’s art from 2012. Here is what it looks like:

Evan's Art - 2012We are going to do a new one every year for both of the kids. When the frames get to be too much, we will just put the 8″ x 10″ prints in a photo album. And of course, I will always have the files on my computer too.

I love to have some of the actual crafts, so I will keep on doing my scrapbook for my favorite pieces. However, I try to keep the paper in our house to a minimum, so I’m hopping on board the technology train to help me wrangle in some of the paper clutter. Scanning, JPEGs, and collage prints are some of my very favorite ways to preserve memories.

How do you preserve your family’s memories but also contain the paper clutter?

~Erin

 

8 thoughts on “Cute Valentine’s Craft and Art Organizing Tips!

    • I like a good mixture of digitizing, but also having the real thing. And I hope that someday my kids like doing the crafts as much as I do. Right now, it’s pretty much just me making them do them. Ha!

  1. I kept too much of the cute crafts the kids did in elementary school so we now going through it, scanning a lot of it. I wish that I’d have gotten pictures of the kids’ art with them holding it on the day they made it (like you did in the photo above). I have some of those and they are more precious to me than the artwork alone.

    • It’s hard to find the right way to preserve all of the memories. I never did the ‘once a month’ photos for my kids when they were born like everyone is doing now. But I do have some great pictures so I’ll just have to preserve them differently. Sometimes you have to get creative!

What are your thoughts?

