New Year already????

I can’t believe it’s already January 3, 2013! Where does the time go?!

IMG_5618

It seems like life is so busy and you cram so much in and then you realize years have passed. Like almost everyone else, I have a list of New Year’s resolutions. Many of them I realize are too much for me to focus on and they quickly go by the wayside. Others haunt me throughout the year as I never quite reach my goals made hastily on December 31st.

This year I still have resolutions. I still want to completely organize my house. I still want to start exercising on a regular basis. I still want to train my dog to turn off lights and get me a snack from the pantry (yes that is a real goal). However, I’m going to take it easy on myself this year. I know that being a working wife, mom, friend, home owner, pet owner, life haver (I know that’s not a real word) takes up most of my time, so any resolution I have is going to come in small steps. So while I am going to set goals and work hard this year, I’m also going to take it easy and not beat myself up. Here are just a couple goals and how I am going to make them attainable.

-Live Presently. – This is the most important goal I am setting for myself this year. I spend so much time making lists for what needs to get done in the future, I think about what needs to be done before tomorrow or next week or before we go on vacation. It’s very seldom that I sit and actually enjoy the moment. Here’s an example, I love taking pictures and videos of our kids. I think it’s fun and important and a great way to share memories with the family. However, sometimes I miss out on what happens because I’m looking through a camera lens. Before Christmas, my kids were putting ornaments on the tree at my in-laws house and I was taking the obligatory million and a half photos. Then I realized I hadn’t put a single ornament on with them and didn’t actually SEE the kids do anything. So as much as I love taking pictures, I’m going to put the camera down a little bit, and put the lists down a little bit and try to snuggle into my pillow for an extra minute in the morning instead of jumping up to cross things off my to-dos (that will TOTALLY happen).

We were in Florida for New Years and on New Year’s day, my husband and I took the kids to a little teeny beach right at sunset. I felt almost naked as I left the condo without the camera. But I watched the kids touch the sand and look at the waves and I will have that memory forever. I don’t have a picture to show you, but let me tell you, it was worth it 🙂

Just so I don’t deprive you of photos though, here’s a couple others from Florida:

Florida - December 2012 (3) Florida - December 2012 (34) Florida - December 2012 (36) Florida - December 2012 (74) Florida - December 2012 (85) Florida - December 2012 (126) Florida - December 2012 (159) Florida - December 2012 (167)

-Organize my organizing – In 2013 I want to get some new organizing books (more to come on this one!) and increase my blog readership. I plan on doing  a LOT of posts on this in the near future, so I won’t bore you with the details now.

-Exercise – I know this is almost everyone’s resolution and historically, it has not known to be one that I stick with. But maybe, just maybe 2013 is my year.

Happy New Year everyone!

~Erin

6 thoughts on “New Year already????

  1. I also plan to live “presently”. Also prioritise so that house work goes a little further down the ladder. I will always be a “neat freak” but intend to put “joy before jobs”

  2. Here’s to keeping our respective resolutions, Erin! Love the term “life-haver”! And if you train your pup to turn off the lights, could you please come visit to teach Louie to do the same? 🙂

What are your thoughts?

