Turkey Box Craft

As an organizer, I’m always looking for ways to maximize the use of things. The other day I found the perfect way to combine two projects. Me and my 3 year old made a fun craft project that was also a game! I mentioned this project in my Collectively Creative post here. I got this idea out of book of Thanksgiving craft ideas that my mother in law gave me. I changed a few things, but I like how it turned out. It was pretty simple but a lot of fun. Here’s what you need:

1 medium size cardboard box and at least 1 tiny helper:

An assortment of construction paper in fall or ‘turkey inspired’ colors:

And glue and scissors. That’s all you need.

First I cut the flaps off of one end of the box. This end will be the ‘bottom’ of the turkey. Then I drew a triangle on one of the bigger sides and cut it out with the scissors. This will be the mouth and you need to make the triangle pretty big.

Then I cut out construction paper shapes for the eyes, beak and weird turkey thing that hangs on their face over their beak. (Not sure what that’s about). I let Evan help me glue them on.

Then I cut out feathers from various pieces of construction paper and glued them to the top of the box. I had actually glued a brown piece of paper to the top of the box first to give me an even surface for the feathers. I also took one of the cardboard flaps I had cut off, bent it and taped it to the back of the feathers. This helps them stand up straight instead of falling backwards.

The instructions then say to make little bean bags out of material to use as ‘corn’ for the turkey, but we didn’t do that. Instead we crumpled up pieces of construction paper that had been cut in half. We used yellow paper for corn, but then Evan decided the turkey was REALLY hungry and wanted cherries, blackberries and grapes so off we went, crumpling up every color in the rainbow.

The best thing about this part of the craft is that it’s really fun, but it is also a great hand strengthener in little kids and helps them develop fine motor skills because of how their hands have to move.

Now it’s time to feed the cardboard turkey!

Both kids could do this part!

The kids took turns putting the ‘food’ in the turkey’s mouth. Evan also stood back and practiced throwing the food into the mouth. That was why we needed to make the triangle mouth so big, so that he could toss the paper in.

Great things about this project:

-It is very hands on.

-It involves lots of different skills for little kids to practice, like cutting, gluing, crumpling, throwing, gluing and sorting.

-The kids are able to get creative with the colors used and also use their imaginations when it comes to what the turkey is ‘eating’

-I got to see some adorable teamwork from 2 sweet little boys! (Can you tell it was pajama day at our house?)

This was a wonderful way to spend an afternoon, create a memory with the kids and make a game that they could keep playing with.

I recommend this one!

~Erin

10 thoughts on “Turkey Box Craft

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Wrap Up | Neaten Your Nest

  2. Hi Erin, I love your pictures, and I love this little project, as I’m writting this, my little one is taking a nap but I just emptied 2 boxes (1 of diapers and 1 of wipes) before I opened my laptop, so I guess I just found the perfect project for this afternoon (btw, mine won’t be as good as yours, my son is 1 and he will probably just jump in the boxes) 🙂 thanks again for posting this! 🙂

    • It’s the perfect project for all those empty boxes. And in a week, I’ll recycle the box and turn another box into some sort of Christmas craft game. My 9 month old is loving putting the papers in the turkey’s mouth, so I’m sure your 1 year old will have a blast!

  3. Erin, I really love your posts! They really make my day when I see them. Your kids are INCREDIBLY lucky to have you as a mother because you really bring out being creative and having fun. Just the best things ever! Keep at it and I’ll definitely keep reading,

    Marie
    Good Morning, Joe

    • Wow, thank you so much. You absolutely made my day! I’m so glad I’m able to share a little of my life with these crazy kids! I really appreciate you reading the blog and hope I can keep the posts coming! Happy Thanksgiving!
      ~Erin

  4. What a cute idea, going to rustle up a box from our garage to do this with my daughter this weekend! I know she will get a kick out of feeding the turkey 🙂 Your kids are so cute in their pajamas!!

What are your thoughts?

