Get rid of stuff by asking questions

I have found a new way to get rid of stuff! Usually, I try to sell items or donate them or even throw them away if the other two options won’t work. However, I found a new way to get rid of things! It sounds ridiculous, but it’s all about starting conversations and asking questions. Let me give you a couple examples:

Last weekend I was hanging out with a friend who has a newborn. She had him in one of those baby carriers and mentioned how he always slipped down. I have a cute little Seven Sling I got when my second was born.

It’s in the donate pile right now, but I asked her if she wanted to try it since it is a different kind. She said yes. Instant de-cluttering of an object in my house and I got to help out a friend!

Yesterday another friend mentioned she wanted a new hobby. My question….what kind of hobby?

Her answer?…..”I have always wanted to learn to play banjo.”

My response?…..”I have a banjo!!!! And I never use it! You can borrow it!”

So today I said a temporary farewell to our beloved banjo:

Now I’m not gonna lie…a little piece of me misses it already, even though it sat unused in our guest room for 2 years. However, I know that one of two things will happen:

-My friend will love the banjo and I won’t miss it enough. Then I can sell it to her.

-I will decide I really want to play the banjo and when she gives it back, I will finally pursue my long standing dream of being a blue grass musician (not even kidding).

Either way, I have temporarily cleared out a space in my home. This will cause me to finally be rid of the darn thing or finally learn to play it. I’m happy with either outcome.

So just by asking a few questions, I was able to get rid of a couple items and help some friends.

This brings me to another subject…bartering. This is a great way to exchange goods and services. Case in point: I am working on building a portfolio for Neaten Your Nest so I’m doing a couple ‘pro bono’ organizations. However, one friend of mine is a great photographer and I am severely lacking in this area. So I’m going to trade some organizing for some photography tips.

So if you have things to get rid of or a service to promote, start talking! Ask questions, offer help, look at social media posts, get outside the box! These kinds of things have the potential to help you clean out your stuff, increase your business, build relationships and more. Get talking!

~Erin

7 thoughts on “Get rid of stuff by asking questions

    • People have so many talents, businesses, passions, etc that they are willing to trade for. I’ve never really thought about bartering much either until I started a business. Now it’s all about what I can trade! 🙂

  1. When I first started my business, I also did a bunch of organizing for friends in exchange for pictures and feedback. It was a wonderful way to grow my portfolio and gain referrals and experience. I’m so excited for you!

    I love bartering. A girlfriend of mine is a personal trainer. We used to trade organizing and training sessions. Win, win! I also love the idea of finding a home for something you are having a hard time letting go of…sometimes it is easier for people to let things go if they know a loved one is going to get joy out of it.

  2. I love your idea of bartering! What a great way to network. I am inspired by this idea. I am also in awe of all of the expertise that people have about so many things. I want to improve my photography skills and have a close friend who’s son has studied photography and works in the business. But I am going to pay him to teach me some things. I am so looking forward to it!

What are your thoughts?

