Inspiration Week Continues

Today’s inspiration comes from Thea over at Organized Living Essentials. You can find her right here.

I’ve mentioned her blog before and how I love the format. She always presents a situation, a problem and then a practical solution. I think when you’re faced with a problem, it’s a great idea to lay it out and then come up with a realistic plan to solve it.
Her post this week called ’10 Key Ideas to Being Organized‘ inspired me in a couple of ways. Here is the mini poster she made to illustrate her great ideas, which all start with the letter P:

Here is why I like this concept:

-She thought about a lot of aspects that surround organizing. It is not just about putting things in a specific place. It is about how you process ideas and utilize systems. It is about making things work for you, even if they might not work for someone else. It’s about learning and growing. Organizing is much, much more than what goes on which shelf. It is about defining a way to be efficient and create spaces that bring you peace and joy.

-Another thing I love about this is that they all start with P! Sometimes we just need a way to help us remember things. Whether it’s things that start with the same letter or an acronym or some other trick, it’s great to have an easy way to remember something important. One of the acronyms I love is S.P.A.C.E. It was coined by organizing expert Julie Morgenstern and S.P.A.C.E. stands for:

Sort, Purge, Assign, Containerize and Equalize.

By breaking down something into simple steps, Julie helps people and business truly assess their problems and systematically solve them.

So it’s all about looking at your problem and finding efficient and possibly creative ways to solve it. Thanks Thea and Julie for the inspiration!

~Erin

8 thoughts on “Inspiration Week Continues

  1. Pingback: My Blog Was Featured on Neaten Your Nest’s Inspiration Week! | Organized Living Essentials

  2. Erin this is great! I have so much trouble getting and staying organized – it’s nice to know that it isn’t only about where to put stuff and that what works for someone else might not work for me! Truly a lightbulb moment…

  3. Hi Erin,
    I am so appreciative that you have showcased my blog as one of your inspirations. First of all, I love how you chose to write about blogs that have inspired you. That sends a genuine compliment to the bloggers you are showcasing and makes your blog so personal to your readers. When I read your review about how my blog is organized I could tell that you totally appreciated my intent and way of thinking. Your paragraph describing why you like the concept totally captured what I was thinking when I wrote this blog. I also thought it was so concisely and eloquently written. Lastly, I am totally honoured that you compared my blog to the work of Julie Morgenstern because she is the guru of time management. I read her books years ago and I have always respected her work. I have a strong feeling that our thinking when it comes to organizing is very similar. I just love the positive bubbly tone that comes through your blog whenever I read it. Keep up the awesome sharing! (I liked this blog because I REALLY liked it!)
    Take Care,
    Thea Morris

    • Thank you so much Thea! I really enjoy reading your ideas and solutions. It keeps me motivated! It is also good to realize that there will always be issues that come up in life so it is great to have an organized way to deal with them. I was thinking a lot about Julie Morgenstern and her influence and I realized that she just found a way to get her information out a long time ago. But that should never discount the ideas, perceptions, and goals that other people have just because they don’t have as big of an arena. That’s why the blogging world is so great. It lets people share ideas to a whole new audience and that makes their idea more powerful. Thanks!

  4. Absolutely all true. Doing my organizational 2 weeks here has proved many of those thoughts. While other people may not see my spaces the way I do, the organization we did put things into an easy to find, easy to use order for US. Which in your home(or business) is the single most important thing. Sure you want it clean and pretty, but it’s got to be functional for the people using it also. Good post!

What are your thoughts?

