My junk drawer

Well, if I’m going to be a professional organizer, I better get organized! I have tons of systems in place to keep me organized, but some areas of my home are horrendous! Case in point…my home office. Our office is a place that is not used nearly as often as it should be. Even though we work from home, we have two young kids, so often we just bring our laptop downstairs to work. This created multiple problems:

-When we are working downstairs, we are much less productive.

-We bring papers, files, calculators, staplers, etc downstairs and they end up on our kitchen counter for WAY TOO LONG!

-When we put stuff back in the office, it often doesn’t go into an organized place.

Add to all of this that I recently decided to clean out our pantry and since I didn’t want to invest a lot in containers, I “borrowed” some organizers from my office just to see how they would work. They worked out great in the pantry, but I just threw all of their original contents on my desk. My office looked like this:

Yikes!

I’m super embarrassed to even post this picture (you cannot even see one inch of the desktop!), but I am looking at it as an opportunity.

-First, if I show the world what it looks like in it’s worst state, it makes me want to improve it.

-Second, if nothing else, it proves that even though I like to organize, there are places in my life that need a lot of help and attention.

-Third, it will allow me to get a sense of how long it will take to reorganize a home office. As an organizer, I will need to make time estimates for projects. What better place to start than my own house?

So first I looked at everything in the office and made some notes on what I liked, what I didn’t, what I needed, and how I wanted this space to function. Right now the office looks like this:

I can see the desk!

It’s far from finished, but I’m getting a better sense of what I need from this space. And what I need is NOT for it to be the world’s biggest junk drawer! I will post more progress tomorrow!

~Erin

4 thoughts on “My junk drawer

What are your thoughts?

