Adding Joy to Every Room

For this month’s edition of Collectively Creative (dreamed up and hosted by Kelly over at Cobwebs, Cupcakes and Crayons), the theme is Joyful.

The Joyful Edition Logo 2012

I decided to take a non-Christmas approach to this theme and talk about adding JOY to every room in my house. So much of my time is spent organizing and cleaning and doing all of the things that NEED to get done. Often, I forget about little things that can make life oh-so-sweet and don’t take a lot of time, money or energy. So I decided to add something that makes me happy or brings a smile to my face in every room of my house. Here are just a few!

~Switching out the soap bottles on my kitchen counter

This one seems almost too basic to bring me actual joy, but it does bring me a little. :) This is what I have always had sitting next to my kitchen sink:

IMG_8047Booooring, right? It was efficient and easy and didn’t take up to much space, but it was nowhere near pretty. I just wanted something simple to replace these, so I found relatively cheap plastic bottles to use.

IMG_4905I put them on a little tray I already had and put a napkin underneath to catch any drips. Soon I’m going to make cute labels for the bottles. This is a simple switch, but I love how it looks and everything is very easy to clean. It makes me smile just a little when I do the dishes. Everyone could use that, right?

~Dressing up the dresser.

I also wanted something decorative and useful on the dresser in our bedroom. Before, we had a little jar we used to collect change. I loved the jar, but it was so lonely sitting there by itself.

Lonely Little Change Jar

Lonely Little Change Jar

Again, I just shopped my house for decorative friends for the jar. I found a candle which was going unused in the dining room along with some polished river rocks I had.

IMG_4909 IMG_4919I put the rocks on the tray around the candle and brought them upstairs. I brought up a small plant that was also sitting in the dining room. Here is what the corner of our dresser looks like now:

IMG_4923I love how it looks! It so nice to have a plant in the room and it’s the perfect touch of green. The bonus is that it doesn’t take much water or light so it’s very easy to take care of. I’m not known for my green thumb. I also love candles, but only have them lit when I’m in the room. Now I can light a candle while I’m upstairs reading or watching tv. I love that this project adds a little light and life to that corner of our room…for free!

~Nesting in the office

A while back, my mom got me a box of 4 little decorative nests. I’m assuming this was because I had just started Neaten Your Nest and they caught her eye.

IMG_4870They are adorable, but I had no idea what to do with them for the longest time. Then I decided it was time to display at least a couple of them. I bought a shadow box (1/2 off at a craft store) and decided to cover the back of the box with some burlap I’ve had for months that was just waiting for a project.

IMG_4873I hot glued the burlap to the backboard and then hot glued 2 of the nests to the burlap. I reassembled the shadow box and now it’s a super cute decorative accent.

IMG_4877

Reasons I love this project:

-I had most of the materials on hand already, so it was super cheap.

-It’s adorable!

-It says a lot about me. The nest goes along with my business and blog, I love the comforting colors and the rustic nature of the materials, and I did it myself.

These 3 simple projects are helping to add a little joy to my home. It’s amazing how many simple projects can bring happiness and make life easier. What small things can you do around your home to bring you joy every day?

Now add a little more JOY to your blog reading and check out the other bloggers participating in this round of Collectively Creative!

Framing Christmas PJs - (Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons)
J-O-Y to the World - (Pillows A-La-Mode)
How To Display Christmas Cards - (Organized Living Essentials)
The Spirit Of Christmas - (A Ponytail Kind Of Day)
Wrapped In Christmas Lights (Happy Little Kiwi)
Sharing Joy - (Gentle Stitches)
The Joy Of Discovery - (Love, Laughter and a Touch Of Insanity)

~Erin

24 thoughts on “Adding Joy to Every Room

  1. You have some great suggestions here! I love the idea of switching out the kitchen soaps – so simple yet so impactful! Your new plastic bottles look much more elegant. :)

  2. What a great post full of great suggestions. My kitchen sink set up is a debacle and until I read your post it hadn’t occurred to me to “do it up”. I plan to have the prettiest sink in Australia very soon.

    • I agree, it never occured to me that I could make the soap near my sink something to smile about! There’s some great Pinterest idea out there as usual though and I was inspired. Share a pic if you fix up your kitchen sink too!

  3. The soap bottles are such an easy “switch-out” but man, does it make such a difference! I’m going to have to do that one pronto, before the guests start arriving in the next day or so! Great ideas! Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

    • I was thinking the clear bottles would be perfect to tie a different color ribbon around for different seasons or holidays. That way you can change the ‘sink decor’ without changing the bottles. Maybe there will be post on the that in the new year!

  4. What a nice way to look at our house! i mean, i could use more joy around each room ;) I know the feeling you are talking about, like i did some white tissue pompoms for my oldest room. Really inexpensive, quick and it still make me smile each time I walk in her room… I need to put your idea on top of my list for next year resolutions! thanks for sharing!

  5. Adding a little bit of joy to each room in your house? What a sweet and simple idea! Your post has inspired me to try and do the same. Your new soap bottles made me giddy. I need to make the switch! Your caption of “Lonely Little Change Jar” made me laugh out loud. And the nests!? So sweet and perfect for you. Thank you for being a part of The Joyful Edition!

    • I almost went with a Christmas theme, but then I thought…”I could use Joy all year round!” I can’t wait to make cute labels for the soap jars! ;) Thanks for dreaming up Collective Creative, I love being a part of it!

What are your thoughts?

