Memories all around

Wow, where did yesterday go? I completely missed Things I Love Thursdays! We’ll be back next week with that feature!

In all seriousness, we had a car in the shop, my husband went out of town, I had both kids, and then went to dinner with friends. It was a busy, productive and fun day overall. Of course, I can hardly let a day go by without getting bitten by the organizing bug, so I was in my room at 10 last night going through boxes of pictures and memories. I have tried numerous systems over the years, but none of them allow me to completely reach my goals with these types of items. Here is what I want from photo/ memory organization:

-I don’t want to keep too much. There are so many little trinkets, tickets, photos, maps, boarding passes, etc that you have to draw the line somewhere.

-I want to be able to look through all of the photos and memorabilia easily and share them with my friends and family.

-I want them stored in a manner that’s out of the way, but still pretty to look at.

So there are the 3 main goals. Here is what I started with:

Not the prettiest photo storage I’ve ever seen

So many boxes (all completely uncoordinated) and they were in several places in my house. Also, they were so difficult to go through…fun, but difficult. So here’s my plan to streamline:

-Go through each item and carefully consider whether I need it or not. (So far I’ve gone through several boxes and you wouldn’t believe how much I threw away.)

-There are some items I want to somehow keep, but they take up too much room (such as thicker greeting cards) or I don’t see a reason to keep the physical item. For those items, I’m going to scan them in to my computer. Then for scrapbooks, I’m going to print small, flat versions of them. That way I have them scanned and printed, but the amount of space taken up is greatly reduced. (Sidenote: Even for some of the stuff I kept, I still scanned them in case something happened to the actual photo album they end up in)

-I’m going to actually put these into my scrapbooks! This part will take a while, but then the items will be out of boxes and they will be easily accessible to look at and to share.

Between last night and today, I’ve already spent about 5 hours doing this and I’m only completely through 2 boxes! And that’s just sorting, purging and scanning…not even putting them in albums! Wow.

Lessons Learned:

-I have to keep up with this from now on. I have 7 years of memories piling up in the batter’s box waiting to go into albums. That’s not even counting pictures printed from previous years and stuff from when I was a kid. I mean I literally had a whole box of stuff for each of the last 7 years.  Let’s do this!

-I have to be more selective of the memories I keep. Looking at the pile of stuff I threw out, I realized that I should have been a tad (understatement!) more picky about what went into the boxes in the first place.

-I have to plan ahead for future storage. Whenever I needed a new storage box, I would go buy one, but they were always different than the previous ones so nothing matches. I’m going to buy enough boxes to store my current stuff, but then add a few extra so the ‘memory’ corner can look more uniform. I have found so many I like, but most are pricey, so I’m thinking “can I possibly make something beautiful and functional from a cheap blank slate of a box?” I think I’m gonna try! Here is some inspiration for me though:

This is actually home made! I’m so jealous of the skills!

 

This is a plain box which has been decorated with stencils. So many possibilities here!

 

I’m ‘kind of’ obsessed with cube storage so this might be an interesting way to get my memories corralled but still have them look great!

 

There are so many ways to store and present your memories, but it doesn’t make much sense if you can’t keep up with it and easily enjoy them once in a while. I will keep you posted on the progress. This is a HUGE project people!

~Erin

What are your thoughts?

